Decorating Tips: Frosting!

27 Feb

The frosting on a dessert is the finishing touch. It adds a dab of creativity and makes your baked good complete. The baked good that is most popular for its frosting finish is the cupcake. Unfortunately, this is  my least favorite part about buying a cupcake from a bakery. I am not a fan of heavy, very sugary and thick frostings that often crowns the delicious dessert. But when I try to re-create the signature frosting swirls at home, it just doesn’t look the same–until I discovered this easy decorating trick that doesn’t require the purchase of any expensive frosting bags or frosting tips. All you need is your favorite frosting (store-bought or homemade works), and a Ziploc bag.

In the video below, I demonstrate how easy it is to make your own decorative frosting swirl, with as much, or as little frosting as your heart desires. Take a look! (Note: I am in NO WAY a professional cinematographer, and shot this video with the microwave as my tripod. And my film production roommate was out of town! Darn it!)

I want to see how your frosting swirls turn out! Email me pictures of your latest baking creations to be featured on the site: itsacakewalkblog (at) gmail (dot) com.

Have fun decorating! Remember–it’s a cake walk!

5 Responses to “Decorating Tips: Frosting!”

  1. Danielle February 28, 2011 at 2:45 PM #

    I need the recipe of an icing that makes me feel good when I eat it, and when I read its ingredients. Help me! Haha. ;) Thanks for the idea love!

    • It's A Cake Walk February 28, 2011 at 7:39 PM #

      Glad you like my decorating tip :) I’ll keep an eye out for a health(ier) frosting!

  2. Victoria March 8, 2011 at 12:28 AM #

    Love the blog! This is a great tip! I am a student who loves to bake but some of the tools are a bit expensive for a college budget. This is a great alternative and I can’t wait to see what else you have in store for us :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dedicated To “The Boy Who Lived” « It's a cake walk - October 24, 2011

    […] a pastry bag (or do my ziplock bag trick from this post) with butterscotch buttercream and pipe onto the top of each cupcake. Drizzle on the butterscotch […]

  2. Pastry Tips! « It's a cake walk - February 1, 2012

    […] when I need to frost cookies or cupcakes, I usually use the plastic bag trick that I blogged about here. I recently decided, however, that I wanted to invest in good, yet inexpensive pastry tips and bags […]

Sugar rush and feelin' chatty? Leave a comment!

