It’s Fall! …Kind Of

28 Oct

Happy last week of October, everyone! That means it’s officially fall, right? Halloween is coming, Thanksgiving is just around the corner, and before you know it, Black Friday will be here and twinkle lights will be popping up on every house. This week means pumpkin-flavored everything is in full force {Currently in my pantry, I have pumpkin coffee, a can of pumpkin for baking, pumpkin pancake mix, and pumpkin butter}, the boots come out of storage, and all your fall clothes make an appearance. Unless you live in San Diego, where it’s been 80+ degrees all week! Now don’t get me wrong, I LOVE San Diego and I am ecstatic to be back {I am not envious of the hurricane on the East Coast right now, and the snow storms in winter} but I really, really miss fall. Where the leaves change, the air is crisp, and you can smell when people are starting to use their fireplaces. I miss wearing matching flannel shirts with friends, gray fall skies, and going to the pumpkin patch to eat donuts and drink apple cider.

Thanksgiving 2011 with the Nicholsons. In matching flannel, of course.

Today, in an attempt to get some fall into our lives, John and I ventured up to Julian with some friends. The goal was to get inspired to bake some yummy fall recipes {even though it was 80 degrees outside and I couldn’t wear my cute fall outfit I had planned}. Regardless of the heat, we had a great time. We ate, we drank, we picked pumpkins. Success! Speaking of baking, here are some of the fall recipes I’ve been pinning lately.

Pumpkin Rolls

Source: the-girl-who-ate-everything.com via Abra on Pinterest

Candy Corn Sugar Cookies

Source: kathiecooks.blogspot.com via Abra on Pinterest

Homemade Nutella

{that last one isn’t fall related, but homemade Nutella? What?!}

Any thoughts or suggestions on fall must-bakes this season? Happy Fall!

Sugar rush and feelin' chatty? Leave a comment!